Irish tourist workers ‘unhappy’ over travel ban

The Irish government has banned tourism workers from the UK, and has introduced legislation that would prevent people who come to Ireland from travelling to the UK for a certain period of time.

The Foreign Affairs Department said on Friday it would ban those with visas from working in the UK as it considers that the current restrictions on travel were “unworkable”.

The Government will introduce legislation later this week that will prohibit Irish nationals who are currently in the country from entering the UK to do so for a maximum of three months from April 1, 2019.

Under the new rules, a British visitor will have to wait two weeks in order to apply for a visa to enter the UK.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade said there were a total of 4,959 visa applications for tourism workers in the EU from the EU.

It said there had been an increase in applications from Irish nationals in recent years, particularly those from the Republic of Ireland.

“It is clear that the UK remains a valuable destination for many tourists and tourism workers.

The Government is determined to ensure the flow of economic activity is maintained and the UK welcomes Irish nationals to its shores and welcome them to work here,” the department said in a statement.”

However, there are significant issues relating to the entry of tourism workers to the United Kingdom that need to be addressed.”

The Irish Department of Justice (DJI) and the Immigration Department (ID) said they were working with the Irish Government to try and resolve any issues.

“Our aim is to address as many of the issues as possible, and ensure that all relevant stakeholders are provided with the best information and assistance, including from our Irish counterpart, the UK Department for International Development (DFID),” a spokesperson for the Department of Home Affairs said.

The UK Government has already banned travel from the European Union to some countries.

It imposed travel bans on six other countries, including France, Italy, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain and the United Arab Emirates.

Back to Top